CEP811: A Reflection

BlendSpaceCEP811

There it is.  Seven weeks of learning packed into one wacky square.  The QR Code will take you to a blendspace of a collection of resources from the course.  I like blendspace as a tool to collect sources whether it be for a lesson in my classroom, or to compile resources connected to an overarching theme.  For this particular purpose, I wanted to review the resources we worked on since there wasn’t any one in particular that stood out in my mind.

As I was adding rows to create space for more links, I started to realize just how much we covered in such a short time.  As we tinkered through the Maker Movement, we explored research that supported educational theory and played with new ideas to see where our bits and pieces fit as educators.

5201276675_c40e338661_o.jpg

Another reason I created the blendspace collection stemmed from completing CEP810, wishing I had organized my resources with a better tool to be referenced at later dates.  I haven’t touched on any formal lessons with my students that explain the timeline of the Maker Movement.  I would like them to understand the progression that has occurred since the inception and provide them a choice of how involved they want to be.  Having the resources compiled into one space will be helpful.  We also only used blendspace once last year, so it would be a good refresher to model the website while sharing a lesson with the students.

The Maker Movement is in touch with our inner child.  As an educator of young adults, we sometimes expect students to be so organized and responsible, we can lose site of letter their inner child come out.  Much can be learned from their creativity and I’m excited to see what they can teach me.  The amount of technology in our school is increasing dramatically.  It’s time to increase the engineering component.  Sharing this information with the students will allow them to freely explore where they see themselves as engineers in a fun, innovative way.

 

Image Credit

FIGURE 04.3 The Five Cogs of Innovation (n.d.). Retrieved December 7, 2015, from https://www.flickr.com/photos/jurgenappelo/5201276675

 

Leave a Reply

