PQ + CQ = Mission Possible

Teachers are on a mission.  A mission to promote student growth and achievement by exposing students to opportunities that allow for their individuality.  Our own ratio of education, passion, and creativity influences our methods of promoting student growth.  I am surrounded by educators of all backgrounds and I am thankful for the diversity in curriculum planning that I see from my team.  I know that our collective efforts help expose students to the opportunity to flex their creative muscles.

Thomas L Friedman describes that in addition to intelligence quotient, we need to consider passion and creativity in our work.  I never teach my curriculum the same way from year to year.  The students change, information changes, and I change.  With technology on my side, my teaching should not stagnate.  I should be able to continually grow and show my students how they can grow too.

Technology opens doors that create opportunity for collaboration and pursuit of knowledge.  Technology is evolving much more quickly than we are as mammals so the options for its use are infinite.  Part of my mission is to share how technology can be used for learning, especially with the trends of popular culture pervading the world wide web.  However, we must still recognize that our students’ funds of knowledge should be embraced even if it boils the language of chemistry down to a funny cat in glasses.

chemistrycat.jpg

Full disclaimer: I love chemistry cat.  I think the memes embody how to combine intelligence and creativity.  And trust me, I have seen the passion of students enthusiastically trying to create/find their own versions that are equally witty.  It’s a cycle that I want set on an infinite loop: mutual inspiration, collaboration, and learning.  I want to learn just as much from my students and colleagues as they learn from me.

Scientific principles stem (or should I say STEM?!) from inquiry.  Engaging my students through technology is fun and full of endless possibilites.  The video below is meant to share the mission with students, but it also requires that I recognize my role and my vision in the process.

References

Friedman, T. L. (2013). It’s P.Q. and C.Q. as Much as I.Q. Retrieved March 05, 2016, from http://www.nytimes.com/2013/01/30/opinion/friedman-its-pq-and-cq-as-much-as-iq.html?_r=0

エルエルLL [Digital image]. (2013, November 11). Retrieved March 5, 2016, from https://www.flickr.com/photos/107244436@N07/10807063496

Leave a Reply

